End of the year and other new stuff

I am in Oregon again.  It is for a short time only, but I am here and that is all that matters. Also, I have a new range in our old farm house – the previous one was a brown, 20 year old electric range with coils, half of which didn’t work, and more mouse poop in its wiring than I care to think about.

The clean-up after they pulled that thing from its spot was toxic.

My fabulous boyfriend, who is soon to be my – wait for it – husband (!!!!) got me the range for a xmas present. I know it sounds that next I’ll be barefoot, pregnant and chained to that stove forever. I guess 2 out of three ain’t bad. HA!

You know I love to cook, so this is really a great Xmas present.  And the electrician is downstairs making sure we can actually turn on the stove and the lights at the same time.

On other news, posting on this blog will remain light in the foreseeable future.  Not that I plan to continue my lazy ways.  Au contraire. I am starting a new blog, one that will be a wee bit more focused that this one, ahemm.

I  need to lose some pounds. And I love food and its place in our life, and I am concerned and interested by the consequences of our mistreatment of the production process of food on the distribution of food across the world.  The fact that I have pounds to lose and that across the Atlantic people are starving, or that my weight comes from eating too much good food while most obesity in the US comes from indulging in Big macs – these are the things that keep me awake at night.

Food is essential, but we humans have not respected it enough, we have no dealt with the inequality in the distribution of food across the globe in a holistic way, and we are not thinking enough about the connection between climate control and food supply control.

If any of this interests you, or if you just want to see me expose myself, my weight, and embarrassing shots of my largest parts, leave me a comment or send me an email (galainoregonATgmailDOTcom) with your email, and I’ll let you know when the new blog is up.

It’s all for a good cause (my weight loss will be a food bank’s gain – more on that in the blog), so I hope to hear from you!

2 Comments

Filed under blogs & blogging, food

2 responses to “End of the year and other new stuff

  1. Yes, congratulations! And so excited to see what your new blog is all about!

Leave a Reply

